Latest
News
You need to upgrade your Flash Player!

Jr. NBA Rookie Division

http://www.jrnba.ca/

 WATCH VIDEO: CLICK ON IMAGE BELOW   

 

Jr. NBA Rookie Division is a national youth basketball program for children ages 5 to 7 that encourages a fun, active and healthy learning environment. The 12-week curriculum complies with Sport 4 Life’s Long Term Athlete Development Model (LTAD) and is aligned with Canada Basketball’s Development Pathway. Jr. NBA Rookie Division is a turnkey program, providing hosts with the full curriculum, participant materials, and coach training required to deliver the programming. Not only will participants learn the fundamental skills of the game of basketball through fun, engaging games, they will also be taught essential life skills including leadership, sportsmanship, teamwork, and respect. The focus is on FUN – get involved!

Program Details

Curriculum:

  • Weekly 45 minute practices for 12 weeks (Designed for athletes ages 5-7)
  •  Aligned with Long Term Athlete Development (LTAD) and Sport for Life (S4L) principles
  • Curriculum developed by NBA Basketball Operations and a team of experts in child development and physical literacy
  • Modified games that are age-appropriate, simple and FUN!

           Coaching:

  • Jr. NBA Coach Training provided for FREE by Jr. NBA Ambassadors

Equipment and Uniform:

  • Program will include age-appropriate equipment (smaller basketballs and Spalding adjustable hoops)
  • Participants will receive a size-appropriate Spalding Rookie Gear Basketball and NBA team branded t-shirt

Cost:

Based on facility and staffing costs associated with the local program

          Process:

The program is growing rapidly across the province and we would love for YOU to be involved! If you have any questions, please contact your Jr. NBA Ambassador (below), or email Bess Lennox (blennox@basketball.on.ca) directly.

         Spencer Gibson (SGibson@nba.com - Hamilton - Niagara, Peel, West, Kitchener - Waterloo)

         Omari Wiltshire (OWiltshire@nba.com - Capital – Kingston, Durham-York, Toronto, North)

 

        Current Programs:

City/Town Organization Main Contact Email 
Kanata Kanata Youth Basketball Association (KYBA) Owen Kelk  owen.g.kelk@gmail.com
Milton Milton Stags Basketball Mike Borlongan  mike@stagsbasketball.com
Barrie  Next Level Basketball Scott Seeley  scottseels@hotmail.com
Simcoe Norfolk Youth Basketball Jean Montgomery  monty6@sympatico.ca
Hamilton Blitz Basketball  Stefano Giovannangeli  stefgio@yahoo.com
Chatham Chatham Kent Wildcats Jamie Ireland  jireland@teksavvy.com
Kingston Kingston Impact Basketball Club Gillian DeMelo  gilliandemelo27@hotmail.com
Cobourg YMCA Northumberland Carrie Hawley  chawley@ymcanorthumberland.com
Orleans Gloucester Cumberland Basketball Association Janet Capern  g_cbasketball@yahoo.ca
Stouffville Town of Whitchchurch-Stouffville  Jen McEachen  jen.mceachen@townofws.ca
Ancaster Ancaster Basketball Club Rob Bowden  ancastermagic@icloud.com
Toronto South Toronto Golden Eagles Basketball Club Chris Marcinkiewicz  info@goldeneaglesbasketball.ca
Bracebridge Bracebridge Breakers Basketball Club  Ron Love   bracebridgebball@gmail.com
Ottawa Ottawa South Basketball Association Geoff Crampton   info@ottawasouthbasketball.ca
Toronto Toronto Lords Basketball Association Bob Clarke  lordsbasketball@gmail.com
Barrie YMCA Barrie  Jocelyn Hay   jocelyn_hay@ymca.ca
Almonte Naismith Basketball Association  Stephanie Lee naismithpresident@gmail.com
Concord Canadian Basketball Academy  Graham Erksine  admin@canadabasketball.com
Kirkland Lake Mile of Gold Basketball Club Colette Carter colette.carter@dsb1.ca
York Basketball World Toronto Michael Reio  mreio@bwt.ca
Oshawa St. Kateri Tekakwitha Lucia Goodwin lucia.goodwin@dcdsb.ca
Welland Welland Minor Basketball  Rita Ventresca-Root rita.ventresca-root@sympatico.ca
Guelph Guelph Youth Basketball Association  Remel Oandasan  remel_oadasan@hotmail.com
Toronto  Albion Boys and Girls Club Khudaija Sheikh khudaija@albionservices.ca
London Gold Medal Basketball Camp Judy Provenzano aprovenzano13@gmail.com
Scarborough Triple Balance Community Centre  Chris Skinner chrisskinner@triplebalance.ca
Kitchener KW Youth Basketball Association  Mike Quigley  coachqwlu@hotmail.com
Port Colborne Port Colborne Youth Basketball  Barclay Walker  barclay.walker@cegeco.ca
Newmarket Bayan Basketball  Patrick Doon  bayan1260@hotmail.com
Toronto  Canadian Chineses Youth Athletic Association Clement Chu clement@ccyaa.org
Oakville  Oakville Family YMCA Darcy Roland darcyro@oakville.ymca.ca

 

 

 

This Month in Basketball

January 2017
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        

Featured Video

Partners in Development

Corporate Partners