Latest
News
You need to upgrade your Flash Player!

Steve Nash Youth Basketball

 
 
Steve Nash Youth Basketball (SNYB) is a national youth basketball program designed to develop fundamental skills, sportsmanship, and a love of the game in young athletes ages 8 to 12. SNYB is a turnkey program, providing hosts with the full curriculum, participant materials, and coach training required to deliver the programming.  SNYB is flexible enough to allow organizers to adapt the program to their needs and resources while remaining aligned with the Sport Canada Long-Term Athlete Development (LTAD) Model. Athletes will learn the fundamental skills of the game of basketball through stage appropriate drills and games while building character and essential life skills. Join us and host a SNYB program in your community!
 
Program Details:
Curriculum:
  • Weekly 60 minute practices for 12 weeks (designed for athletes ages 8-12)
  • Aligned with Long Term Athlete Development (LTAD) and Sport for Life (S4L) principles
  • Teaches fundamental movement and basic sport skills for the game of basketball
  • Highlights life skills such as communication, leadership, and goal setting to develop well-rounded youth athletes and human beings
 
Coaching:
  • SNYB coaches receive FREE NCCP FUNdamentals Coach Training
 
Cost:
  • Based on facility and staffing costs associated with the local program
 
Process:
·       Interested in hosting a SNYB to host a program in your community? Please contact the SNYB Ambassador in your area (below) with any questions or email Bess Lennox (blennox@basketball.on.ca) directly.
 
Ontario - GTA
Bess Lennox
Ontario - Ottawa Valley
Gerry Benoit
Ontario - Georgian Bay Region
Terry Olaskey

 

Current Programs:

City/Town Organizations Main Contact Email
Ayr Ayr Basketball Emily Macdougall emacdougall03@gmail.com
Toronto Basketball Basics Antony Nembhard basketballbasics@rogers.com
Bracebridge Bracebridge Breakers Ron Love ron.love@mac.com
Burlington Burlington Basketball Mark Caplan operations@burlingtonbasketball.ca
Collingwood Collingwood Trailblazers Terry Olaskey jtolaskey@sympatico.ca
Ajax Community Justice Alternative Durham Kenroy Wilson kwilson@cjadurham.org
Whitby New Horizon Basketball Academy Titus Channer titus@newhorizonbasketball.com
Barrie Next Level Basketball Scott Seeley scottseels@hotmail.com
Toronto UofT Junior Blues Olivia Allen junior.blues@utoronto.ca
York Basketball World Toronto Michael Reio mreio@bwt.ca
Hamilton Hamilton Basketball Association Jeremy Fritchley jeremy.fritchley@gmail.com
Port Rowen St. Williams Youth Basketball Dennis Lounsbury dclounsbury@gmail.com
Mississauga Dare to Love Lillian Mendoza lillian@daretolovesportsclub.com
Toronto Megacity Basketball RJ Williams rwilliams@megacitybasketball.com
Trent Trent University Craig Barclay craigbarclay@trentu.ca
Halton Hills Town of Halton Hills  Marg Taylor MargaretT@haltonhills.ca
Toronto Miles Nadal JCC Daniel Eisenkraft Klein Athletics@mnjcc.org
Stouffville Town of Whitchurch Stouffville Jen McEachen jen.mceachen@townofws.ca
Ohsweken Six Nations Park & Rec Cindy Thomas cthomas@sixnations.ca
Petawawa PSP Petawawa Madeline Denney actingrecsupervisor@gmail.com
Borden PSP Borden  Kathleen Sweeney KATHLEEN.SWEENEY@forces.gc.ca

 

 

This Month in Basketball

December 2016
S M T W T F S
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Featured Video

Partners in Development

Corporate Partners